Updates, commentary, training and advice on immigration and asylum law

Iranian dissidents awarded Sakharov Prize


Older content is locked

A great deal of time and effort goes into producing the information on Free Movement, become a member of Free Movement to get unlimited access to all articles, and much, much more


By becoming a member of Free Movement, you not only support the hard-work that goes into maintaining the website, but get access to premium features;

  • Single login for personal use
  • FREE downloads of Free Movement ebooks
  • Access to all Free Movement blog content
  • Access to all our online training materials
  • Access to our busy forums
  • Downloadable CPD certificates

Imprisoned lawyer Nasrin Sotoudeh and banned film maker Jafar Panahi have been awarded the Sakharav Prize.

The Sakharav Prize, named after the Soviet scientist and dissident, is an annual prize, awarded by the European Parliament to individuals or organisations fighting for human rights and fundamental freedoms.

Nasrin Sotoudeh is currently serving a six year prison sentence in the notorious Evin prison for “acting against national security” and “propaganda against the regime”. Sotoudeh has represented imprisoned opposition activists. Banned film maker Jafar Panahi, well known for his documentary “This is not a film” has been under house arrest since 2010. Panahi’s film was smuggled out of Iran hidden in a cake.

The most recent report from the UN Rapporteur on Iran, Dr Ahmed Shaheed, makes for depressing reading. The report can be found here.

Iran has commented on the report: the response can be found here.

There are many of us working within the asylum, immigration and human rights field. It is worthwhile remembering how privileged we are to be able to carry out our work. Freely.

Relevant articles chosen for you
Picture of Sanaz Saifolahi

Sanaz Saifolahi

Sanaz Saifolahi is a barrister at Goldsmith Chambers. She is well regarded for her thorough case preparation, effective advocacy and personable nature. Sanaz is also an assessor for the Law Society ‘Immigration Law Advanced’ Accreditation Scheme.